Wellbeing Indicators

To help make sure everyone – children, young people, parents, and the services that support them – has a common understanding of what wellbeing means, we describe it in terms of eight indicators.

The eight wellbeing indicators are commonly referred to by their initial letters - SHANARRI. 

Child protection services will continue to protect children and young people at risk of significant harm.

Eight indicators of wellbeing

  • Safe

    Protected from abuse, neglect or harm at home, at school and in the community.

  • Healthy

    Having the highest attainable standards of physical and mental health, access to suitable healthcare and support in learning to make healthy, safe choices

  • Achieving

    Being supported and guided in learning and in the development of skills, confidence and self-esteem, at home, in school and in the community.

  • Nurtured

    Having a nurturing place to live in a family setting, with additional help if needed, or, where possible, in a suitable care setting

  • Active

    Having opportunities to take part in activities such as play, recreation and sport, which contribute to healthy growth and development, at home, in school and in the community.

  • Respected

    Having the opportunity, along with carers, to be heard and involved in decisions that affect them.

  • Responsible

    Having opportunities and encouragement to play active and responsible roles at home, in school and in the community, and where necessary, having appropriate guidance and supervision, and being involved in decisions that affect them.

  • Included

    Having help to overcome social, educational, physical and economic inequalities, and being accepted as part of the community in which they live and learn.


Image result for wellbeing wheel